The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Un-slumping yourself April 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:54 am
Tags: , , ,

And when you’re in a Slump,

you’re not in for much fun.

Un-slumping yourself

is not easily done.  (from Oh! The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss)

Today I feel like I’m in a slump. We had a wonderful day and evening yesterday, but last night my son woke up screaming at 2:15am and did not go back to sleep until 4:42am.

It’s to do with teething. Molars. Not fun.

So today, for the first time in his life I am using the television to entertain him. He is watching a dvd called “Baby Moves” and he seems to be enjoying it. Don’t judge me. I’ve got to un-slump myself somehow. If he can watch the babies on the tv long enough, I can take a shower and put on make up. Then (since I don’t hear gale-force winds beating against the house today) we can go to the park and get some fresh air. And when we get tired of being outside, we can come home and read some of our favorite books.

Strangely, just talking about it is already starting to un-slump me! Have a wonderful spring day, everyone! And if you get into a slump, don’t worry. Just remember, as Dr. Seuss says, “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose!”

 

Leave a Reply

