The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The clear warm light of April April 5, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Picture Books — Kristi @ 11:13 am

“What you see is the clear warm light of April. And it means that we can begin a whole new year together, Toad. Think of it,” said Frog. “We will skip through the meadows and run through the woods and swim in the river. In the evenings we will sit right here on this front porch and count the stars.” (from Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel)

I really think the new year should begin in April, not January. It seems like spring is such a time for beginnings.

 

2 Responses to “The clear warm light of April”

  1. Jen Says:

    I don’t know exactly what it is about Frog and Toad, but they were some of my favorite stories as a child, and now I love reading them to my little boy! Thanks for brightening my day with this one!

  2. Shanna Says:

    I agree. Spring is when the world feels new, and I feel new, and it seems like it would be a perfect time for the year to be new too.


Leave a Reply

