The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The things themselves March 22, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 12:08 pm
Tags: ,

“I was a whole lot frightened,” said honest Walter. “But I’m not going to be frightened any more, sir. Being frightened of things is worse than the things themselves.” (from Rainbow Valley by L.M. Montgomery)

I love these books so. I remember when I was a little girl (probably thirteen), I thought the last few in the series were kind of boring with Anne all grown up and not getting into scrapes. But now I love the parts of the series in which Anne is a mother best of all. With a thirteen month old boy crawling (almost walking!) around my house I have less time to read than I used to. Well, that’s not true–I have the same amount of time but I spend it on The Napping House and Gossie and Gertie, The Cat in the Hat, Duck and Goose, and Tana Hoban’s wonderful little black and white books. Anyway, I’ve started earlier than usual on the Anne books this year so that I can be ready for “Anne Day” at the beginning of summer.  Anne day is a day in which I join friends in Lubbock, Texas for raspberry cordial and other Anne-ish foods and a viewing of the charming Anne of Green Gables movies (all except The Continuing Story, which isn’t Anne-ish at all).

I chose this quote today because I know exactly how Walter feels and it is a hard lesson to learn. But take courage, friends. Things are never as scary as they seem.

 

2 Responses to “The things themselves”

  1. Lee Lipman Says:

    Like in Harry Potter: ‘Fear of a name increases fear of the things itself” 🙂 Nice.


Leave a Reply

