The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Give me pearls December 18, 2009

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 4:38 pm
Tags:

Gilbert laughed and clasped tighter the girlish hand that wore his ring. Anne’s engagement ring was a circlet of pearls. She had refused to wear a diamond….

“But pearls are for tears, the old legend says,” Gilbert had objected.

“I am not afraid of that. And tears can be happy as well as sad. My very happiest moment have been when I had tears in my eyes….So give me pearls for our troth ring, Gilbert, and I’ll willingly accept the sorrow of life with its joy.” (from Anne’s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery)

Six years ago today (well, tonight actually) Jon gave me a dainty pearl ring and asked me to be his wife. This quote is one of many reasons I wanted pearls and the Anne books are why we travelled to Prince Edward Island for our first anniversary. When I first read Anne’s House of Dreams as an eleven- or twelve-year-old I loved it because it was romantic and sad and happy and funny. Through the years, as I’ve re-read it, I’ve loved it more as I began to find myself in the same season of life as Anne. In House of Dreams, she and Gilbert enjoy their first years as man and wife, lose their first child, and have a little boy. We have followed a very similar journey. I never knew that so many joys and sorrows could come in quick succession, but I am more grateful all the time that my own “Gilbert” gave me pearls.

Oh, and happy birthday, Beloved.

 

Leave a Reply

