The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

In a golden splash November 2, 2009

Filed under: Classics — Kristi @ 4:24 am
Tags: ,

“Years rolled on again, and Wendy had a daughter. This ought not to be written in ink but in a golden splash.” (from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

I chose this quote months ago for today, the day my friend delivers her daughter. We can’t wait to meet Elizabeth Anne. Her arrival will be announced by email, text message and phone, but even in a digital age it deserves to be written in a golden splash–Trish has a daughter. I know I can’t actually be as excited as Trish and Trey are, but I almost feel like I could be. Once you’ve experienced something as amazing as bringing a little part of yourself into this world, it’s hard not to feel even more anticipation when your friend is about to do the same. I don’t even know what to say. I’m just brimming with pride and joy on their behalf. And, well, she is having a daughter; and I happen to have a son around the same age. I’m just saying, there’s no law against two moms dreaming up a future union.

 

2 Responses to “In a golden splash”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Please. I think you two worked a deal with God to get exactly what you wanted.

  2. trish Says:

    i’m so honored to make the blog in such a special way. i couldn’t agree more with this quote, and each day i spend with beth doesn’t diminish (not one bit) the excitement with which a could shout it aloud. thanks kristi.


Leave a Reply

