The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Easy, fluent words October 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 2:10 am
Tags: ,

“It won’t seem so hard by-and-by dear,” said Anne, who always felt the pain of her friends so keenly that she could not speak easy, fluent words of comforting. Besides, she remembered how well-meant speeches had hurt her in her own sorrow and was afraid. (from Anne’s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery)

I feel like Anne right now. I feel like I should find something to say or to write to my friend, but what? I cannot speak easy, fluent words of comforting that do not comfort at all. I do remember how those words hurt, and my own loss was so much less than this.

 

One Response to “Easy, fluent words”

  1. Shanna Says:

    How truly apt this quote is. I always feel like I should say something to friends who morn, but also always feel certain that grief strips words of their capacity to comfort.


Leave a Reply

