The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Person October 20, 2009

Filed under: Picture Books — Kristi @ 3:40 am
Tags: ,

“A person’s a person no matter how small.” (from Horton Hears A Who by Dr. Seuss)

 I am going to restrain myself from going on and on about the following: how much I love Dr. Seuss, and how strongly I believe (I know that I know that I know!) that my son was his whole precious self from the first moment.

On the first subject, I’ll only say that Dr. Seuss transformed children’s literature and I am so glad he did! Some parents dress up like Santa Claus for their children; I have plans to someday dress up like the Cat in the Hat to give mine one messy and memorable day. Just wait. It’s going to be great.

On the second, I’ll just say that I knew Benjamin was in my womb and loved him wholeheartedly from the beginning. I’ll tell you that I saw him for the first time via ultrasound three weeks from conception and that I heard his heartbeat for the first time less than a week later. Because I lost our first baby to miscarriage, we got to have lots of ultrasounds and you will never convince me that a baby is anything other than a person from the get-go, no matter how small. We watched him grow centimeter by centimeter, week by week. Oops–there I go. I’ll just stop myself by sheer force of will. Goodnight.

 

One Response to “A Person”

  1. Shanna Says:

    I dearly love the whole story about Horton going to great lengths to save the Whos because he understood that a person’s a person no matter how small. That quote always reminds me of why we should care about persons, whether they are the small persons being formed in their mothers’ wombs or the small persons who grow the coffee and tea and sugar we use or sew the clothes we wear. It’s easy for us in America not to hear the small voice of these people, but we should. God does.


Leave a Reply

