The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You will find me bigger October 12, 2009

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 3:08 am
Tags:

“Aslan,” said Lucy, “you’re bigger.”

“That is because you are older, little one,” answered he.

“Not because you are?”

“I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”

 (from Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis)

When I was a little girl, my grandparents had a house on South Padre Island that they took us to every summer. We had such fun there, but I noticed that, as I grew older, the house seemed to grow smaller. What seemed like a mansion to a five-year-old turned out to be just a modest vacation home by the time. By then, when I was twenty years old, much bigger houses had gone up all around it, obscuring the view, dwarfing it by comparision. It is with houses as with most things.

But not all things.

When I was six years old I drew a picture of heaven for a school contest. I knew God had to be big–bigger than everything else–so I drew Him next to an angel and made His head the size of the angel’s whole body. But, unlike houses, as I grew older God did not grow smaller. No, as I grew, I came to see just how big He really is: bigger than death, bigger than addiction, bigger than money, bigger than church, bigger than betrayal, bigger than miscarriage, bigger than fear.

I wonder if any of you would be willing to share: what is God bigger than in your life?

 

2 Responses to “You will find me bigger”

  1. Shanna Says:

    bigger than disappointment. bigger than uncertainty. bigger than loneliness. bigger than the desire to control life. and I’ll echo your bigger than fear.

  2. Suzahn Roach Says:

    I always say that God is bigger than everything and anything in my life. I truly do believe this. However, there are days when I am not so unwaivering of this belief. I have come to realize that He is bigger than anything I am willing to hand over to Him and get out of the way and allowing Him to move. As long as I am holding on to the fear of the unknown or the “what if’s”, I am not truly allowing Him to be bigger in my life.


Leave a Reply

