The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

An Ordinary Person October 9, 2009

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 2:20 pm
Tags:

“Annemarie admitted to herself, snuggling there in the dark, that she was glad to be an ordinary person who would never be called upon for courage.” (from Number the Stars by Lois Lowry)

 Number the Stars has been a favorite ever since I read it as a fourth grader. I love the story of how an ordinary family is called upon for courage and how their courage shines forth like so many stars. I am even more impressed by the true story of the Danish people and the many ways in which they helped their Jewish citizens at that time. If you haven’t read Number the Stars, pick it up at the library or bookstore.

 

2 Responses to “An Ordinary Person”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Number the Stars has been a favorite of mine since fourth or fifth grade too.

  2. Kristen Says:

    I love this book as well. It has been one of my favorites since I think fifth grade when we had to read it in school. I also love that I’m just a normal person who has never been called on to be courageous. 🙂


Leave a Reply

