The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Like an old friend September 26, 2009

Filed under: Classics — Kristi @ 4:05 am
Tags:

“Perhaps, after all, romance did not come into one’s life with pomp and blare, like a gay knight riding down; perhaps it crept to one’s side like an old friend through quiet ways.” (from Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery)

Tonight our sister, Christina, married her friend, Brady. It was such a lovely wedding–really beautiful in every way. And I was especially touched as I watched them because I, too, was priveleged to marry someone who was my friend before he was my lover. What a great thing to marry someone you already know so well, someone you already like. I’m too tired now to wax eloquent or be remotely profound, but I just want to say that I not only love, but still very much like my husband. And, welcome to the family, Brady. We are so glad you crept to Christina’s side like an old friend through quiet ways.

 

One Response to “Like an old friend”

  1. Shanna Says:

    I like that quote. It’s lovely.


Leave a Reply

