The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A lot September 23, 2009

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 2:48 am

“…we got each other,” she said, “and that’s a lot.” (from Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt)

I enjoyed Tuck Everlasting. It’s a good read, just the right length, with a great ending. I think it could be a good one for provoking interesting conversation between children and adults.

I like this short quote from the character Mae Tuck. I like it because my husband and I are starting to feel the strain of living on one income with the addition of a tiny but expensive new family member. Like other people, we are learning to eat in more, borrow books from the library instead of just buying what we want from Amazon, buy clothes on ebay instead of department stores. Sometimes it’s embarrassing and sometimes I feel it more than others. But, cliche as it sounds, deep down I really do feel like Mae Tuck. We have each other and that’s a lot.

I love the quote because it made me pause to reflect on just how much we have in each other. True poverty would be poverty of the soul–the loneliness of estrangement from family, isolation from friends. I have not only my own strengths, but my husband’s which compensate for my weaknesses. We have the promises that we have kept to one another. We have the laughter of many friends–inexpensive, not cheap, entertainment. And we have our own darling little one to show us just how much love can multiply. It’s a lot.

 

2 Responses to “A lot”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    ‘Nuf said!!! I love you:)

  2. Shanna Says:

    Love this post!


Leave a Reply

