The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Judge a Housekeeper September 19, 2009

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 2:42 am
Tags:

“Anne’s a good housekeeper,” she said to Marilla in the spare room the night of their arrival. “I’ve looked into her bread box and her scrap pail. I always judge a housekeeper by those, that’s what.” (from Anne’s House of Dreams by L.M. Montgomery)

Well, the truth is that Mrs. Rachel Lynde would be scandalized by my housekeeping, that’s what! I do not have a bread box or a scrap pail, but I imagine these days she would pass judgment on such things as the top of the refrigerator, the baseboards, ceiling fan blades, and cabinet liners. And, truth be told, she wouldn’t have to go as far as all that to find fault with my out of control abode.

But, thanks to www.flylady.net I am making a beginning. With baby steps, I am on my way to a more managable home. Today I shined my kitchen sink so it sparkles like an amethyst brooch over the lake of shining waters. And I made an impressive pile of clutter to donate to The Salvation Army. The reward for my hard work? A beaming husband who says he is proud of me.

 

Leave a Reply

