The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

For the Stories September 14, 2009

Filed under: Classics — Kristi @ 12:37 am
Tags:

“Do you know,” Peter asked, “why swallows build in the eaves of houses? It is to listen to the stories.” (from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

I realized a while back that I’ve never actually read Peter Pan. I loved the Mary Martin movie/play when I was a little girl and I’ve found some Peter Pan quotes in my search for good quotes. But, I confess, I had never read the book. So I went to the public library and there found a beautiful 100th Anniversary Edition illustrated by Michael Hague and published by Henry Holt and Co. (After I publish this post, I am heading over to Amazon.com to add the book to my wish list–the illustrations are truly lovely.)

I’ve been reading it to Benjamin for the past couple of evenings and have found so many worthwhile quotes that I’ve had to re-read the same chapters with a pen and a sheet of paper after he goes to sleep. Great book. Wonderful read-aloud, charming read-alone, exceeding all expectations.

I expected to find the themes of adventure and courage, magic and play. But I did not expect to find one of my very favorite things of all–the love of story. Peter and the Lost Boys crave stories like all children and all adults who have grown up in the necessaries but not the essentials. Read it. I know you’ll love it.

 

2 Responses to “For the Stories”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Sounds charming!

  2. Candlewycke Says:

    I discovered your blog and have been enjoying what you have to say and the way you say it. Children;s literature is one of my passions as well, in fact it is the nature of my blog at http://candlewycke.wordpress.com/.

    Peter Pan has long been a pet project of mine. I am working on a little something I am calling tentatively Wendy; The story of a lost Girl in which I explore why Wendy is actually the central character of the story and the pendulum by which the story moves along as well as how and why she has all but vanished from what people assume the story to be about. Far from being a story of boyish virtue it courses with feminine and motherly (albeit a proper Edwardian motherhood) undertones. I would love to hear what you think of my blog and will continue to read yours.


Leave a Reply

